Paleo-ish Challenge…. & Inspiration!

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a blog and it’s about time I do another. A lot has gone on lately and I’m very inspired!

I’ve been watching a few of the lectures from the Ancestral Health Symposium that took place in August in Los Angeles, CA. I love the technology of the internet and that if you miss an awesome lecture series you can catch up on the videos online. I would highly recommend seeing some of these seminars online… http://vimeo.com/ancestralhealthsymposium/videos

I’ve been reading Robb Wolf’s book “The Paleo Solution; The Original Human Diet” as well as seeing my friends Jimmy and Christine Moore getting fired up about the Paleo way of eating and it has gotten me wondering if dairy is really my friend after all. For those of you unaware of the differnce between Paleo vs. low carb or LCHF (Low Carb High Fat), essentially Paleo eliminates Dairy, believing the proteins in milk are as bad as the protein gluten is in wheat. As in Atkins, Paleo & Primal WOE (way of eating) has a “sliding scale” of how much dairy and carbs people can eat. As Jimmy Moore would say “your mileage may vary”.

So I’ve started my Paleo challenge today. If I do nothing else except cut out the cream in my coffee in the morning I will consider this challenge a success. I know I drink too many dairy carbs in a day for coffee and I want to see if cutting out the cream will make a difference in how I feel.

I am so proud of my friends lately. I have some friends who have approached me in counselling them in my WOE and lifestyle changes. I am more convinced than ever that this is why God has spared my health years ago (I nearly died; no joke)… to help people with bad health who want the help. It humbles me to help people change their lives for the better and get healthy and excited about life again. I know that for years I was merely existing in a body not suitable to what I wanted to accomplish in life or how I wanted to live.

It encourages me and fires my soul to see my friends get results, improve their health and not be hungry while doing it by eating a diet that nature has intended for us. Sugar, Wheat and Grain products are poison to us, as are some bad fats and Soy. I’m not saying I’m perfect all the time… far from it. I have had a couple of slipups lately and have probably been harder on myself than anyone else ever could. I get back to the WOE I live and love and know I will eat this way for the rest of my time here on earth.

As far as my personal life, things have been going well. I “levelled up” in Roller Derby from Level 3 to Level 4 and I am now a Level 5 in endurance, 27 laps in 5 mins., the highest level (minimum is 25 laps for Level 5 🙂 To say I’m happy would be an understatement! All this by eating a LCHF diet. No “healthy whole grains” for this gal, although I still do use the occasional low carb piece of toast or l/c wrap for a burger out. Very rare though.

As long as I can breathe I will condone this lifestyle for those who want to get healthy and not suffer while doing it and help them with any way I can. As they say “those who matter don’t mind and those who mind don’t matter”. I spoke to a new friend on the phone who is going to be my cabinmate for the next Low Carb Cruise and she and I discussed this very subject. Keep people in your life that enhance it and cut out the ones that make your life toxic and you will be the you that you were meant to be. Life is too short!

LCHF/Paleo <3,
Laurie 🙂

One thought on “Paleo-ish Challenge…. & Inspiration!

Leave a Reply

