Fun new experiences!

If anyone had told me a few years ago when I was pushing 300 pounds that in a few years I’d get back into rollerskating and even be a derby girl on an awesome derby team I’d say “yeah, right!!”. Sometimes you amaze yourself. Of course I have to give a “shoutout” to my amazing derby sisters of LOCO. Hey girls!! 🙂

Not only did I amaze myself with getting healthy and losing all that weight but I am doing things I never thought I would be doing. In derby you need physical dexterity to maneuver around the track and agility to stop and start suddenly, transition from front to back, back to front, and muscle strength for balance and keeping low or as we call it “derby stance” in the pack so you don’t get knocked over. It amazes me what I have accomplished in derby in one year.

I used to rollerskate like a fiend as a kid but getting back into it was rough. I had to relearn my cross-overs on the corners again. I had to re-learn how to backwards skate and even now have to learn crossovers for that. What I love about life is that it’s the journey that is amazing. You can always amaze yourself.

I didn’t think I’d ever lose weight and keep it off, let alone get healthy and start a new sport requiring a muscular body and endurance. I didn’t think I’d ever meet not one set of friends (my derby sisters) but a whole new set of friends who celebrate my beloved Low Carb High Fat (LCHF) lifestyle, whom I met on the recent cruise. Not only that but I was recently on Jimmy Moore’s podcast show “Low Carb Conversations with Jimmy Moore and Friends” with his lovely co-host Mindy Noxon Iannotti.

So never doubt that you can accomplish amazing things in life. Life is full of possibilities and adventures just waiting for the taking. Have fun out there! 🙂
LCHF <3,
Laurie

Here is the recipe I added for the show. Hope you enjoy!

Low Carb Pancakes
1/2 package low carb pancake mix or 1/2 cup almond flour
Scoop of Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (low carb of course)
3 eggs
Tbsp. Vanilla
1/2 cup Splenda or your favourite cooking sweetener…. more or less depending on your sweet tooth. Keep in mind the berries have natural sugars in them and will sweeten the batter up.
1/2 cup of heavy cream or sour cream
1/2 cup blueberries or strawberries…. or mixed berries
1/2 cup walnuts or pecans (optional, but yummy!)
Tbsp. Cinnamon Tbsp

Mix it all together into a batter and fry in butter and/or coconut oil like you would pancakes. Have with low carb syrup, butter and/or s/f jam with a side of bacon and/or sausage. Enjoy!
P.S. I freewheel recipes so if you find the recipe too dry just add more heavy cream or sour cream. To up your protein just add another egg.

6 thoughts on “Fun new experiences!

  1. Adding you to my blogroll 🙂 I just bought a pair of roller skates…And at nearly 300 pounds it was not a pretty sight! I am hoping to change that a little every day! Congrats to you on your 100 pounds!

  2. Pingback: 13: Karen Donegan and Laurie Rosen Dish On The USDA’s New Food Plate | Low-Carb Conversations

  3. Pingback: 13: The USDA’s New Food Plate Under The Gun With Karen Donegan and Laurie Rosen | Low-Carb Conversations

Leave a Reply

